Meet the Members

The Members information given here refers to the former standalone Nottingham Emmanuel School Academy Trust and will continue to be published pending finalisation of the accounts. On 1 January 2018, The Nottingham Emmanuel School joined Archway Learning Trust, whose governance arrangements are shown here.

The Members are currently the original subscribers to the Academy Trust being the Chair of Governors and appointees of the Diocese of Southwell and Nottingham Educational Trust (SNET) and the trustees of The Nottingham Emmanuel School Foundation Trust. They are accountable to the Secretary of State for the academic and educational standards in the Academy and the performance of all students.

Members are responsible for ensuring that the Academy pursues its Objects as defined in its Articles of Association as well as having due regard for any other relevant legislation or regulations. Their role is to take ultimate responsibility for the Academy’s educational outcomes and the way in which resources are used to secure these outcomes: the employment of staff, academy finances and funds, and the trust issues of land and buildings. Overall, they are responsible for upholding and developing the Christian foundation of the Academy in accordance with the principles, practices and tenets of the Church of England both generally, and in relation to arranging for religious education and daily acts of worship.

The Members appoint most of the governors, (with the exception of the ex-officio governors and the parent governors who are elected) who manage the business of the Academy and are accountable to the Members for this role.

Member Profiles

Heidi Shewell-Cooper

Heidi Shewell Cooper

Heidi has been involved in the development of The Nottingham Emmanuel School since its inception as a member of the shadow governing body, undertaking a number of roles, including Chair since 2010. Since taking over the leadership of the governing body she has been undertaken the Chair of Governors Development Programme and also completed the Church School leadership Course (2014). She is passionate about the interface between education and faith and the Church School sector. In 2015 she was recognized as a National Leader of Governance (NLG) and undertakes negotiated deployments to support other Chairs of Governors. Heidi is pleased to be leading a team of dedicated volunteers, committed to supporting and challenging the school on its journey towards further improvement. As a member of The Southwell and Nottingham Diocesan Board of Education she supports the work of Church schools across the Diocese. Since 2006 she has managed a partnership of primary schools working on school improvement projects for Nottingham City Council. She is also a parent of three children, two alumni and the final one currently in Year 13.

Christine Bowering

Christine BoweringChristine has spent the major part of her career involved in education, initially as a secondary teacher of both Physics and Chemistry. She was formerly Headteacher of Nottingham High School for Girls. On retirement she served for 8 years as Chairman of Nottingham City hospital until it merged with the QMC in 2006 and was also appointed as a Deputy Lieutenant for the County. As a governor of the Minster School in Southwell she chairs the Strategic Development and Pupil Committee.

Phil Marsh

Rev Phil Marsh

Phil was deployed by the Diocese of Southwell and Nottingham in 2009 into a dual role. As well as being Chaplain to Emmanuel, Phil is the Vicar of St Wilfrid’s, Wilford, and so enjoys a close working relationship with South Wilford Primary school where he is also a governor. In his life as Governor, Chaplain and Trustee at Emmanuel, Phil is also a parent of five children, three of whom are students at Emmanuel.

Phil works closely with the Principal and a range of other staff as part of the Chaplaincy strategy group, which has oversight of all aspects of the Christian distinctiveness including chaplaincy, ethos, and spirituality. Working alongside other staff members, the chaplaincy team values the opportunity to invest in the development of staff and young people, including the leadership of programmes to support CPD (continued professional development), acts of worship and spiritual celebration, numerous extra-curricular activities, and the promotion of teaching through a Christian world view. As Chaplain, Phil is in school most days, either with students or staff, and enjoys the way this informs his role as governor.

Canon Dr Christina Baxter CBE

Canon Dr Christina Baxter CBEDr Baxter is well known for her distinguished career as a educationalist and theologian, and is recently retired from the post of Principal of St John’s Theological College in Nottingham. She has had a long and varied background of lecturing and academic research as well as being a reader in the Church of England, member of the General Synod and The Archbishop’s Council.

Paul Wicks

Paul Wicks Paul has been involved with Emmanuel School since the earliest days back in 2002, through the Carters Education Foundation, who he still represents. He is also a member of the St Wilfrids PCC in Wilford, where he has taken the role as Minutes Secretary. In his professional life, he was until his retirement in 2015 a Transition Manager for a large IT outsourcing company. Outside of work he enjoys cycling, watching football and playing the guitar.

The Diocese of Southwell and Nottingham Educational Trust (SNET)

The Diocese of Southwell and Nottingham Educational Trust (SNET) is a corporate member of the Academy Trust and any of its Directors are able to attend members’ meetings.  SNET Directors include the Diocesan Director of Education and the Chair of the Diocesan Board of Education, as well as others with a wealth of educational and business experience.

Meet The Staff